not-front-rule

1991 350SD shifting trouble

Welcome to the Mercedes-Benz Club of America Forums
Here, you'll find members en masse who can talk, guide, answer or listen to your Mercedes-Benz related questions and comments. Participation in the forums is free to Club members. If you're a guest of this site, you'll have access to our read-only discussions. Like what you see? Join the Club to get full Q&A privileges. If this is your first visit, be sure to check out our FAQ page.  To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Forum Jump

15 replies [Last post]
Former Member
mbaird's picture
Santa Cruz, CA

Vehicles
1991 350SD

Hey everyone,
As my post count shows, I'm brand new to these parts, but hopefully that'll change soon. :)

My brother gifted me with a '91 350SD about two and a half years ago. It's had no trouble outside of routine stuff (like shock replacement...they were 10 years old!). Over the last few weeks, though, I've been feeling more and more worried over this weird problem with shifting. Going from second to third, or third to fourth, the transmission clunks and the shift is hard and can be felt inside the cabin.

It's definitely a major change from when I first had the car, and so I took it to Aamco for an external diagnostic. They test-drove the car with me, and I pointed out when it was happening and the tech agreed it was strange but he did not think it was something to be concerned about. He did say, and I checked and do agree, that the transmission fluid is a little old, but not real bad yet (just a faint hint of char to the smell).

So anyway, Aamco wants $200 for a fluid purge, but I can probably do that myself, yet I only want to if that's likely to solve the problem.