not-front-rule

1974 240d SVO Conversion

Welcome to the Mercedes-Benz Club of America Forums
Here, you'll find members en masse who can talk, guide, answer or listen to your Mercedes-Benz related questions and comments. Participation in the forums is free to Club members. If you're a guest of this site, you'll have access to our read-only discussions. Like what you see? Join the Club to get full Q&A privileges. If this is your first visit, be sure to check out our FAQ page.  To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Forum Jump

7 replies [Last post]
System Admin
monarchd's picture

Hey Guys-

This is my first time posting, but I've already read through many posts and have gotten so much information already. Thanks!

I am looking to get a classic Merc diesel to convert to run on veggie oil. I have come across a 1974 240d which the seller is asking $1000. I have yet to see the car but before I even get my hopes up, has anyone attempted this conversion before? If so does anyone have any advice?

I know alot of people convert 80's s123/s124 but I am much more of a fan of the w115.

Any advice would be great!

Thanks,
Adam Sax

Share this
redghost's picture
Seattle, WA

Vehicles
2002 S430
1995 300D
1974 450SL
1972 220D

The old w115 is a great platform for a conversion. The OM616 engine is really simple and can run on just about anything you can get in the tank.

First consideration for running a VO car is outside temperature. Cold climate VO cars are not run in the winter. Just no great way to get the fuel to stay hot long enough without boogering up the engine and gelling in the lines.

Temperate climate cars are best done as a two tank system running VO as travel fuel and a bioD or petro tank (three gallon) as start and purge. Frybrid.com makes a really great system that will blend right in and looks oem in the cabin. You put VO in the main tank and have a small tank under the hood for non VO.